University of Arkansas Office for Education Policy

Arkansas Teacher of the Year Announced

In The View from the OEP on November 26, 2012 at 10:13 am

This morning at 9:30 AM, Governor Mike Beebe and Arkansas Education Commissioner Tom Kimbrell,  surprised Alexia Weimer, a Kindergarten teacher at Avondale Elementary School in the Marion School District by awarding her as the 2013 Arkansas Teacher of the Year. Avondale Elementary is a K-1 located in West Memphis, AR school serving 634 students, two-thirds of which are eligible for a federal free or reduced-price lunch (FRL). She was one of four finalists announced earlier this year having been nominated for the award by colleagues who wrote letters of recommendation to the Teacher of the Year Selection Committee.

Ms. Weimer, who has spent her entire six-year teaching career at Avondale Elementary, was surprised at a school assembly by Gov. Beebe and Commissioner Kimbrel. As Teacher of the Year, Weimer will also receive a $15,000 check from the Walton Family Foundation, which has long been a sponsor of the award. Weimer will represent the teachers of Arkansas and meet with legislators and educational organizations on behalf of Arkansas schools.

Teachers are selected based on their teaching skills, as well as their dedication to students, parents and colleagues; demonstrated school and community leadership; ability to inspire students of all backgrounds and their commitment to their profession. Under Act 17 of the First Extraordinary Session of the 85th Arkansas General Assembly provides for the Arkansas Teacher of the Year recipient to take a year of paid administrative leave to serve in an advisory position as a non-voting member to the Arkansas State Board of Education and for professional development purposes.

Congratulations, Alexia!

%d bloggers like this: